Save the Date: Igor Zabel Award for Culture and Theory 2016

The Igor Zabel Award for Culture and Theory honours exceptional cultural achievements by art historians, curators and theorists whose work refers to Central, Eastern and South Eastern Europe.

The laureate is appointed by an international jury. The members of the jury in 2016 are:

  • Zdenka Badovinac, director MG+MSUM, Ljubljana, chair of the jury
  • Vít Havránek, director, Prague
  • Roman Ondák, artist, Bratislava

The total prize money is EUR 76,000. In addition to the award of EURO 40,000, three grants (each of EUR 12,000) are offered, two of them by the jury, while the laureate decides on the third one.

The 2016 award ceremony will be organised in cooperation with MG+MSUM and take place on Friday, 9 December 2016, at Moderna galerija in Ljubljana.

A conference in memoriam Polish art historian Piotr Piotrowski – winner of the 2010 award – will be organized on 8 December 2016.

Photo by: Walter Seidl