10 journalists selected for the Balkan Fellowship for Journalistic Excellence 2013

Group photo - by Kerstin Hutter

The jury of the Balkan Fellowship for Journalistic Excellence has selected 10 participants for this year’s programme, out of more than 100 applicants:

Dino Jahic, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Meri Jordanovska, Macedonia
Hana Marku, Kosovo
Vlad Odobescu, Romania
Katarina Panic, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Goran Rizaov, Macedonia
Mirko Rudic, Serbia
Erjona Rusi, Albania
Melisa Skender, Croatia
Elena Stancu, Romania

Selected journalists will receive a fellowship of €2,000, a travel allowance of up to €2,000, and the opportunity to participate in a seven-month programme for professional advancement.

Completed articles will be published in English and other languages in the regional and international media.
In addition, the top three articles, again judged by an independent committee, will receive awards of €4,000, €3,000 and €1,000.

This year’s Fellowship topic is Integrity. The Balkan Fellowship for Journalistic Excellence is an annual bursary for cross-border investigative and long-form reporting, that was initiated by the Robert Bosch Stiftung and ERSTE Foundation, in cooperation with the Balkan Investigative Reporting Network.